Search Toggle

South Australia wins first ever Blind Cricket All Abilities Championship

Last Friday South Australia defeated Queensland to take out the first ever Blind Cricket National All Abilities Championship held in Melbourne.

The final took place on Caulfield Grammar’s Wheelers Hill cricket ground and was decided after a weeklong competition between SA, Qld, ACT, Vic, and NSW.

Qld were confident heading in to the final having not lost a game all week and believed that this time they would be successful after losing the final to Victoria in Adelaide the previous year.

After 20 overs Qld had compiled a reasonable total of 8/188 after being in a precarious position at 3/12 early on. Lindsay Heaven guided Qld to what looked like a match winning total with a masterful 96 of just 68 balls, with the partially blind batsmen threading the ball excellently through the field all the way to the fence as he took to the wayward bowling towards the end of the Queensland innings.

Alas for Qld it was not to be. South Australia despite losing gun opening batsman Stephen Palma, were able to steady the ship and bat well. It wasn’t until later on when a totally blind bowler came on that allowed for free, fast scoring to ensure the win, reaching 4/190 in the 19th over to take out the game and seal a historic win for South Australian Blind cricket.

There was one small comfort for Qld with Lindsay Heaven named man of the Match scoring 96 runs.

The next major blind cricket nationals are yet to be announced but will be held later this year or January 2016.

Recent Comments


Be the first to comment!

Post Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *